Student Algebra-Number Theory Archives for Academic Year 2015


Riemann Surfaces and Galois Actions

When: Fri, September 12, 2014 - 2:00pm
Where: Math 3206
Speaker: Jon Cohen (UMCP) -
Abstract: I will describe some of the theory surrounding Dessins D'enfant.

Free abelian groups and points of small height

When: Fri, September 19, 2014 - 2:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Adam Lizzi (UMD) -


A (gentle) introduction to spectral sequences

When: Fri, September 26, 2014 - 2:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Nathaniel Monson (UMD) -


TBD

When: Fri, October 3, 2014 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Sean Ballentine (UMD) -


Non-existence of elementary integrals via differential Galois theory

When: Fri, October 10, 2014 - 2:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Nathan Dykas (UMD) -


Visualizing the arithmetic of imaginary quadratic fields via Mobius transformations

When: Fri, October 17, 2014 - 2:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Sam Bloom (UMD) -


Modular curves, and a solution to Silverman 8.13

When: Fri, October 24, 2014 - 2:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Adam Lizzi (UMD) -


q-Analogs

When: Fri, November 14, 2014 - 2:00pm
Where: MATH 1311 (room change!)
Speaker: Jon Cohen (UMD) -


The relative Lie algebra cohomology of SO(2,2) with values in the Weil representation

When: Fri, November 21, 2014 - 2:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Jake Ralston (UMD) -


Arithmetic progressions of squares (and elliptic curves, if you're lucky)

When: Fri, December 12, 2014 - 2:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Nathan Dykas (UMD) -


Organizational meeting, then an integer factorization algorithm

When: Tue, January 27, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Adam Lizzi (UMD) -


On recognizable versions of the Bloch-Kato conjecture for special values of zeta functions

When: Tue, February 3, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Jonathan Huang (UMD) -


Class numbers of imaginary quadratic fields

When: Tue, February 10, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Adam Lizzi (UMD) -


Some parameters and algorithms for unitarity

When: Tue, February 17, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Jonathan Fernandes (UMD) -


Some parameters and algorithms for unitarity

When: Tue, February 24, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Jonathan Fernandes (UMD) -


The Frobenius-Schur indicator

When: Tue, March 3, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Ran Cui (UMD) -


The Weil pairing and its applications

When: Tue, March 10, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Sam Bloom (UMD) -


The motivic cohomology of Q8: An application of the five lemma

When: Tue, March 24, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Rebecca Black (UMD) -


No True Strassmann: Solving an Exponential Diophantine Equation

When: Tue, March 31, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Dan Zollers (UMD) -


The Kronecker-Weber Theorem

When: Tue, April 7, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Patrick Daniels (UMD) -


PEL-Type Shimura Varieties and Their Models

When: Tue, April 14, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Sean Ballentine (UMD) -


The Bruhat-Tits Building

When: Tue, April 21, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: Math3206
Speaker: Jon Cohen (UMD) -


Determining points on curves via covering spaces

When: Tue, April 28, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Adam Lizzi (UMD) -


Summer organizational meeting

When: Tue, May 12, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Adam Lizzi () -