Student Algebra-Number Theory Archives for Academic Year 2015


Organizational meeting

When: Tue, September 1, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Adam Lizzi (UMD) -


Elliptic curves with everywhere good reduction

When: Tue, September 8, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Adam Lizzi (UMD) -


Constructing abelian varieties for cryptography

When: Tue, September 22, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: Math 3206
Speaker: Sam Bloom (UMD) - http://math.umd.edu/~bloom


Coding Theory

When: Tue, September 29, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Sean Ballentine (UMD) -


Coding Theory

When: Tue, October 6, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Sean Ballentine (UMD) -


Fundamental groups of algebraic curves

When: Tue, October 20, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Nathan Dykas (UMD) -


The Structure of Reductive Groups

When: Tue, October 27, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Patrick Daniels (UMD) -


Families of cyclic cubic fields

When: Tue, November 24, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Steve Balady (UMD) -


What are gerbes?

When: Tue, December 8, 2015 - 1:00pm
Where: Math 3206
Speaker: Rebecca Black (UMD) -


Organizational meeting

When: Tue, January 26, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Adam Lizzi (UMD) -


Organizational meeting (second try)

When: Tue, February 2, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Adam Lizzi (UMD) -


Affine Group Schemes and Cartier Duality

When: Tue, February 9, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Patrick Daniels (UMD) -


TBD

When: Tue, February 16, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Sean Ballentine (UMD) -


Iwasawa invariants of cyclotomic Zp extensions

When: Tue, February 23, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Ariella Kirsch (UMD) -


Reciprocity laws for higher-dimensional class field theory

When: Tue, March 8, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Nathan Dykas (UMD) -


Essential dimension and algebraic codes

When: Tue, March 22, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Rebecca Black (UMD) -


Computing with isogeny graphs

When: Tue, March 29, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Sam Bloom (UMD) -


TBA

When: Tue, April 5, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Sean Ballentine (UMD) -


Iwasawa theory for elliptic curves

When: Tue, April 12, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Dan Zollers (UMD) -


Transfer of the Bernstein Center for Inner forms of GL_n

When: Tue, April 19, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Jon cohen (UMD) -


Algebraic Stacks

When: Tue, April 26, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Weikun Wang (UMD) -


Counting Points mod p on the Modular Curve

When: Tue, May 3, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Patrick Daniels (UMD) -


Supersingular primes in residue classes

When: Tue, May 10, 2016 - 1:00pm
Where: MATH 3206
Speaker: Adam Lizzi (UMD) -