Student Algebra-Number Theory Archives for Academic Year 2019


Modular Curves - introduction and overview

When: Tue, September 4, 2018 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Steven Reich (UMD) -


Modular Forms of Level One (Ribet/Stein ch. 3)

When: Tue, September 18, 2018 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 0401
Speaker: () -


Analytic Theory of Modular Curves - Ribet/Stein ch. 5

When: Tue, October 9, 2018 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Ensemble () -


Modular Curves pt. 2 - Ribet/Stein ch. 6

When: Tue, October 23, 2018 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Ensemble () -


Fundamentals of Elliptic Curves

When: Mon, February 4, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Steven Reich () -


Fundamentals of Elliptic Curves (part 2)

When: Mon, February 11, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Patrick Daniels (UMD) -


Overview of the Proof of Fermat's Last Theorem

When: Mon, February 18, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Shin Eui Song (UMD) -


L-functions

When: Mon, February 25, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Arghya Sadhukhan (UMD) -


Formal groups and p-adic elliptic curves

When: Mon, March 4, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Steven Reich (UMD) -


The Gross-Zagier Formula

When: Mon, March 11, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Yousheng Shi (UMD) -


Selmer and Shafarevich-Tate Groups

When: Mon, April 1, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Steven Reich (UMD) -


Elliptic curves over finite fields

When: Mon, April 8, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Shin Eui Song (UMD) -


Constructing big metabelian extensions using elliptic curves

When: Mon, April 15, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Arijit Sehanobish (UMD) -


Complex Multiplication

When: Mon, May 6, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
Speaker: Arghya Sadhukhan (UMD) -