Student Geometry and Topology Archives for Academic Year 2018


Casimir Element of a Lie Algebra

When: Fri, August 10, 2018 - 3:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1308
Speaker: Zack Greenberg (UMD) -


Intro to Beilinson's Conjectures

When: Wed, September 5, 2018 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: Danny Kaufman (UMD) -


How to find (Finsler) metrics with predescribed unparametrized geodesics in the plane - and a classification of Finsler metrics with many projective symmetries & a classification of Finsler metrics with many projective symmetries

When: Wed, September 19, 2018 - 3:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1308
Speaker: Julius Lang and Nina BartelmeƟ (Friedrich-Schiller University Jena) -


The Volume Conjecture

When: Wed, September 26, 2018 - 3:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1308
Speaker: S. Gilles (UMD) -


Volume Conjecture

When: Wed, October 3, 2018 - 3:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1308
Speaker: S. Gilles (UMD) -


Casimir Element of a Lie Algebra

When: Fri, October 5, 2018 - 3:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1308
Speaker: Zack Greenberg (UMD) -


Casimir Element of a Lie Algebra

When: Wed, October 10, 2018 - 3:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1308
Speaker: Zack Greenberg (UMD) -


Casimir Element of a Lie Algebra

When: Wed, October 17, 2018 - 3:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1308
Speaker: Zack Greenberg (UMD) -


Cohomology of Tiling Spaces

When: Wed, October 24, 2018 - 3:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1308
Speaker: Jianlong Liu (UMD) -


McKay's Correspondance

When: Wed, November 7, 2018 - 3:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1308
Speaker: Danny Kaufman (UMD) -


Curvature of 3-dimensional unimodular lie groups

When: Wed, November 14, 2018 - 3:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1308
Speaker: Charles Daly (UMD) -


Elementary constructions of knot theory

When: Fri, February 8, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: S. Gilles (UMD) -


Introduction to Cluster algebras associated to triangulations of surfaces

When: Fri, February 15, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: Danny Kaufman (UMD) -


Tiling spaces as inverse limits

When: Fri, February 22, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: Jianlong Liu (UMD) -


Unique factorization of knots

When: Fri, March 1, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: S. Gilles (UMD) -


Combinatorics of Cluster Algebras

When: Fri, March 8, 2019 - 1:00am
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: Zack Greenberg (UMD) -


Some Intuition About Connections

When: Fri, March 15, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: Charles Daly (UMD) -


Introduction to Khovanov Homology (more knots)

When: Fri, March 29, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: S. Gilles (UMD) -


Intuition for Connections Part II

When: Fri, April 5, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: Charles Daly (UMD) -


Extended Affine Root Systems

When: Fri, April 12, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: Danny Kaufman (UMD) -


Persistence Sheaves and Applications

When: Fri, April 19, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: Michael Rawson (UMD) -


Understanding Knot Complement Triangulation

When: Fri, April 26, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: Geoffrey Sangston (UMD) -


Extended Affine Root Systems II

When: Fri, May 3, 2019 - 1:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1310
Speaker: Danny Kaufman (UMD) -