• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Kirwan BuildingFaculty

Karin Melnick of the University of Maryland, College Park, has been awarded the AMS Joan and Joseph Birman Fellowship for Women Scholars for the 2020–2021 academic year.

Justin Wyss-Gallifent - 2020 Employee Dean's Outstanding Lecturer Award Principal Lecturer, Department of Mathematics


Sheeba Varghese (B.S. ’94, mathematics; B.S. ’94, secondary education) selected as Top Leadership Trainer of the Year by the International Association of Top Professionals (IAOTP)

Vaughn Osterman BS’19 is a mathematics alumnus whose research has been published in the International Journal of Number Theory. His fellowship proposal involves research in dispersing billiards. He plans to attend the University of Maryland, College Park in the fall.

Grad Students

Ralph P. Pass III Fellowship: Shin Eui Song and Zachary Greenberg 

Patrick and Marguerite Sung Fellowship in Mathematics: Dani Kaufmann and Tessa Thorsen 

Mark E. Lachtman Graduate Student Award: Ian Johnson and Yue Fan 

2020 SIAM Student Chapter Certificate of Recognition: Brandon Alexander. 

Undergraduate Students

Jesse Matthews Named 2020 Goldwater Scholars

Aaron Benda, Asher Fink, Jeremy Folsom, Tyler Hoffman, Ekesh Kumar, Jonathan Lin, Siri Neerchal, Samuel Silver, Yunmeng Wu, Ruijie(Frank) Zheng - Strauss Teaching Assistants

Elliot Kienzle - Strauss Award 

John Nolan and Tanay Wakhare - Outstanding Senior Award 

Siddharth Taneja - Aziz Scholarship 

Justin Hontz and Erik Metz - Abramowitz Award 

Ryan Carver- Konter Scholarship 

Linden Yuan - Daniel Sweet Undergrad Research Fellowship 

Steven Jin - Dan Shanks Award 

Steven Jin - Higginbotham Award