Dr. Lucia D. Simonelli has been awarded the 2019-20 AMS Congressional Fellowship. Simonelli received her PhD in mathematics from the University of Maryland-College Park. She has most recently been a postdoctoral fellow in the mathematics section at the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy. As a Congressional Fellow, she will work in the office of a Member of Congress or a Congressional committee beginning in the fall. Article posted here:  https://www.ams.org/news?news_id=5219

Congratulations to Jacob Bedrossian on his promotion to Full Professor. Professor Bedrossian is recognized for his original contributions to the partial differential equations, especially the equations for the mechanics of fluid flows.  For more about Jacob's mathematics, you can read two of his recent survey articles here and here.

Congratulations to Dr. Allan Yashinski and Dr. Kendall Williams on their promotion to the rank of Senior Lecturer. They will continue to make a difference for their students through excellence in classroom teaching. According to CMNS Dean Amitabh Varshney, “Your (Williams’) example helps to create a climate of inclusion and excellence in our college and on campus.” Yashinski is “moving away from ‘traditional’ lecture-based models to include weekly group work and active learning.” We wish for their continued success in their work.

Congratulations to Professor Yanir Rubinstein for mentoring Michael Lindsey on his student paper "Optimal Transport via a Monge-Ampère Optimization Problem". The paper is selected to receive one of the three Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Student Paper Prizes. The award is based solely on the merit and content of the student’s contribution to the nominated paper. The 2019 SIAM Student Paper Prize will be awarded during the Prizes and Awards Luncheon at the 2020 SIAM Annual Meeting (AN20), to be held July 6-10, 2020 in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Special congratulations to Yaelle Goldschlag - sophomore, Computer Science and Math, on receiving a Goldwater Fellowship. Yaelle Goldschlag plans "to earn a Ph.D. in Computer Science with a focus on computer security and privacy, and then conduct research and teach at the university level." To find out more about the Goldwater Scholarship and to see the list of recipents, visit https://goldwater.scholarsapply.org/

Congratulation to John Evans (senior), Daniel Kraft (junior) and Jinjie Zhang (senior), all of them double majors in Math and Physics, for their exceptional performance in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling 2019. The UMD Team, one of the two teams mentored by Radu Balan (Department of Mathematics) for the 2019 competition, is one of 17 outstanding winners, out of thousands of teams who competed this year.  In addition to being an outstanding winner, the UMD team is also the recipient of one of the three American Mathematical Society awards.