Description: The standard format is a talk in two halves separated by a break, with the first half aimed at nonspecialists.
Organizers: Francisco Arana Herrera, Rodrigo Trevino
When: Thursdays @ 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Where: Kirwan Hall 1311
Pre-2012 Archives: http://dynamics.math.umd.edu/seminar/

Archives: F2011-S2012 F2012-S2013 F2013-S2014 F2014-S2015 F2015-S2016 F2016-S2017 F2017-S2018 F2018-S2019 F2019-S2020 F2020-S2021 F2021-S2022 

  • SRB measures of singular hyperbolic attractors

    Speaker: Dominic Veconi (ICTP) - http://dominic.veconi.com

    When: Fri, September 9, 2022 - 1:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
  • Fine-scale distribution of roots of quadratic congruences

    Speaker: Matthew Welsh (UMD) -

    When: Thu, September 15, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
  • Non-uniform Berry-Esseen theorems and Edgeworth expansions for weakly dependent random variables

    Speaker: Yeor Hafouta (UMD) - https://sites.google.com/mail.huji.ac.il/yeor-hafouta

    When: Thu, September 22, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
  • Rigidity theorems for reducible systems

    Speaker: Jonathan DeWitt (UMD) -

    When: Thu, September 29, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
  • Unstable Dynamics in the Restricted 3 Body Problem

    Speaker: Jaime Paradela (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya) -

    When: Thu, October 6, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 1313
  • Word complexity cutoffs for mixing properties of subshifts

    Speaker: Darren Creutz (US Naval Academy) - https://www.dcreutz.com/mathematics

    When: Thu, October 13, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 1313
  • A Spectral Approach to Counting and Equidistribution

    Speaker: Christopher Lutsko (Rutgers) - https://chrislutsko.com

    When: Thu, October 20, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 1313
  • The shapes of complementary subsurfaces to simple closed hyperbolic multi-geodesics

    Speaker: Francisco Arana-Herrera (University of Maryland) - https://terpconnect.umd.edu/~farana/

    When: Thu, October 27, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
  • Hyperbolic Coordinates in (Non-uniform) Hyperbolicity

    Speaker: Stefano Luzzatto (ICTP) - https://www.stefanoluzzatto.net/

    When: Tue, November 1, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
  • TBA

    Speaker: Françoise PÈNE (Université de Brest) - http://lmba.math.univ-brest.fr/perso/francoise.pene/

    When: Thu, November 10, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 1313
  • Variations on the Mañé lemma

    Speaker: Jairo Bochi (Penn State) - http://www.personal.psu.edu/jzd5895/

    When: Thu, November 17, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
  • Deviation spectrum of ergodic integrals for locally Hamiltonian flows on surfaces

    Speaker: Krzysztof Frączek (Nicolaus Copernicus University) - https://www-users.mat.umk.pl/~fraczek/

    When: Tue, November 22, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 3206
  • Periodicity and Symmetry of the Mucube

    Speaker: Sunrose Shrestha (Carleton College) - https://sites.google.com/view/sunroseshrestha/home

    When: Thu, December 1, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 1313
  • Quantitative marked length spectrum rigidity

    Speaker: Karen Butt (Michigan) - http://www-personal.umich.edu/~kbutt/index.html

    When: Thu, December 8, 2022 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 1313
  • TBA

    Speaker: May Mei (Denison) - http://personal.denison.edu/~meim/

    When: Thu, March 30, 2023 - 2:00pm
    Where: Kirwan Hall 3206