We are pleased to announce the results of the 2021 Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM) and the Interdisciplinary Contest in Modeling (ICM) – the MCM/ICM International Competition.

Our university was represented by two teams. Both teams did a great job this year and they were awarded a Meritorious award and a Successful Participant:
The team by Lily Larson, James Shen and Fucheng Li was awarded the Meritorious Award, a great result, competing on Problem B.
The team by Sally Zhao, Clarissa Xia and Naveen Raman was designated a Successful Participant, a good result, competing on Problem A.

This year 10,053 teams participated in the MCM competition (Problems A,B,C): 4487 teams on Problem A, 3105 teams on Problem B, 2461 teams on Problem C.
Out of all these teams only 7% were declared Meritorious winners, in the 4-10% percentile.

Congratulations to both teams!


Congratulations to Tyler Hoffman (Math) and Jesse Mathews (Chemical Engineering & Math) for being selected as Maryland’s “Undergraduate Researchers of the Year” for 2021.

Alumnus Victor De Oliveira (Math Ph.D. 1997) has been elected a Fellow of the American Statistical Association. Fellows are chosen on the basis of their established reputations and outstanding contributions to statistical science. De Oliveira is a professor in the Department of Management Science and Statistics at the University of Texas at San Antonio. At Maryland, he was advised by ISR-affiliated Professor Benjamin Kedem (Math).

The rest of the article can be read following this link: https://go.umd.edu/TkP

Eitan is being recognized for original, broad, and fundamental contributions to applied and computational mathematics, including conservation laws, kinetics, image processing, and social dynamics.

For the full announcement see https://www.hpcwire.com/off-the-wire/society-for-industrial-and-applied-mathematics-announces-class-of-2021-fellows/

Congratulations to Tyler Hoffman (mathematics), John Lathrop (mathematics and mechanical engineering dual-degree) and Jesse Matthews (mathematics and chemical engineering dual-degree), three of our math majors who received the prestigious National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship. This fellowship recognizes outstanding gradate students in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

For more information, please see: https://cmns.umd.edu/news-events/features/4755

Three University of Maryland undergraduates were awarded scholarships this year by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation, which encourages students to pursue advanced study and research careers in the sciences, engineering and mathematics.
Naveen Raman, a junior computer science and mathematics double major who is also a member of the Advanced Cybersecurity Experience for Students in the Honors College
Sanketh Andhavarapu, a sophomore biological sciences and neuroeconomics (Individual Studies) dual-degree student who is also a member of the University Honors program in the Honors College
Ela Rockafellow, a junior physics major who is also a member of the University Honors program in the Honors College

Read more about Naveen and the other scholars, follow this link: https://go.umd.edu/SCN