Congratulations to Tyler Hoffman (Math) and Jesse Mathews (Chemical Engineering & Math) for being selected as Maryland’s “Undergraduate Researchers of the Year” for 2021.

Alumnus Victor De Oliveira (Math Ph.D. 1997) has been elected a Fellow of the American Statistical Association. Fellows are chosen on the basis of their established reputations and outstanding contributions to statistical science. De Oliveira is a professor in the Department of Management Science and Statistics at the University of Texas at San Antonio. At Maryland, he was advised by ISR-affiliated Professor Benjamin Kedem (Math).

The rest of the article can be read following this link:

Eitan is being recognized for original, broad, and fundamental contributions to applied and computational mathematics, including conservation laws, kinetics, image processing, and social dynamics.

For the full announcement see

Congratulations to Tyler Hoffman (mathematics), John Lathrop (mathematics and mechanical engineering dual-degree) and Jesse Matthews (mathematics and chemical engineering dual-degree), three of our math majors who received the prestigious National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship. This fellowship recognizes outstanding gradate students in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

For more information, please see:

Three University of Maryland undergraduates were awarded scholarships this year by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation, which encourages students to pursue advanced study and research careers in the sciences, engineering and mathematics.
Naveen Raman, a junior computer science and mathematics double major who is also a member of the Advanced Cybersecurity Experience for Students in the Honors College
Sanketh Andhavarapu, a sophomore biological sciences and neuroeconomics (Individual Studies) dual-degree student who is also a member of the University Honors program in the Honors College
Ela Rockafellow, a junior physics major who is also a member of the University Honors program in the Honors College

Read more about Naveen and the other scholars, follow this link:

We are pleased to announce that Eitan Tadmor was invited to deliver the 2022 Gibbs lecture at the next joint math meeting of the American Mathematical Society
Eitan joins three former Gibbs lecturers from UMD (all members of IPST): Burgers (1963), Montroll (1987), and Fisher (1992). Other notable speakers include many of the who's who in Math and Science (including Eric Lander - the founder of the Broad Institute and Biden’s nominee for Science Advisor, Fields Medalists, and Nobel Laureates).
Congratulations Eitan!!