Girls Talk Math is a two-week summer day camp hosted by the Department of Mathematics at the University of Maryland. The camp will occur weekdays July 9-20, 2018 from 9:00 am - 4:00 pm. Rising-9th to rising-12th grade students who attend high school within driving distance of the University can apply. Camp activities involve learning mathematics outside of the standard curriculum, attending mini-lectures on math, as well as recording and publishing a podcast about a famous female mathematician. Girls Talk Math at UMD is a sister chapter of the Girls Talk Math program at UNC. Visit their website to learn more about the 2016 and 2017 summer camps.

Register for Girls Talk Math here.

The mathematics department mourns the recent passing of two of our Professors Emerti: Jim Owings and Adam Kleppner.

James Claggett Owings, Jr. received his PhD in recursion theory at Cornell in 1966, under the direction of Gerald Sacks.  For many years, Jim was one of the leaders of the Maryland logic group.  He had 6 PhD students and has (as of current count) 67 mathematical descendents.  He passed away on January 12, 2018.  He is survived by his wife Jeanne and several children and grandchildren.



Adam Kleppner received his PhD from Harvard in 1960 under the direction of George Mackey.  He was one of the founders of the group representations working group at Maryland, and is known for his work on multiplier representations of abelian groups and on the Plancherel formula.  A picture of him from the Oberwolfach archives can be found here.  After retiring from Maryland, he and his wife moved to Wardsboro, Vermont, where they had spent summers since 1964. He passed away on January 25, 2018, and is survived by his wife Amy and his sons Bram and Caleb.

Congratulations to faculty members Pierre-Emmanuel Jabin and Xuhua He who have been selected as invited speakers at the International Congress of Mathematics in Rio de Janeiro in 2018.   P.-E. Jabin is speaking in the areas of Partial Differential Equations (section 10) and Mathematics in Science and Technology (section 17).  X. He is speaking in the area of Lie Theory and Generalizations (section 7).

Congratulations to our Putnam Exam participants. The University of Maryland Putnam Team was ranked 15th among the 575 competing institutions in the highly competitive Putnam mathematics exam on December 2, 2017.

Congratulations to Aaron George, who ranked 39th and Erik Metz who ranked 81st, and to Jason Zou, Justin Hontz and Pratik Rathore, who were ranked among the top 500 students out of 4,638 participants!

If you are an undergraduate student interested in participating in Putnam or you would like to know more about it, please contact Dr. Ebrahimian at . Interested students meet every Wednesday 4-5:30 pm in the Fall semesters to learn problem solving strategies.

We would like to congratulate the University Maryland team on their excellent performance on this year's William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition, the premier undergraduate math competition.  The Maryland team consisted of sophomore Aaron George and freshmen Erik Metz and Jason Zou, and placed 14th (among all universities and colleges in the United States and Canada) in the team competition.  All 3 team members ranked in the top 200 in the individual competition (out of over 2000 participants), and Erik Metz received Honorable Mention.

Congratulations to Liliana Gonzalez for winning the CMNS Dean’s Outstanding Employee Award and to Professor Niranjan Ramachandran for winning the CMNS Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.  These awards will be presented at the annual CMNS Academic Festival on Friday, May 5.

Congratulations also to Rachel Katz and Bill Schildknecht, winners of this year’s departmental staff awards.   The awards will be presented at an upcoming staff appreciation ceremony.

We regret to announce the passing of our former colleague C. Robert (Bob) Warner, who died August 7, 2017, in Toronto at the age of 85.  Bob worked on classical harmonic analysis in Euclidean space, especially on spectral synthesis in L1 algebras.  He was dedicated to teaching and was one of the most popular teachers of real analysis courses.