With great sorrow we announce the passing of Professor Emeritus John Horváth on March 12, 2015 at the age of 90.   Horváth was always the "gentleman scholar" of the department, and his distinguished career spanned the whole transition from the early years of analysis in the first half of the 20th century to modern mathematics as we know it today.  He studied under the great masters L. Fejer and F. Riesz at the University of Budapest, completing his Ph.D. there in 1947.  He held positions at CNRS in Paris and at the Universidad de los Andes in Bogota before settling at Maryland in 1957.  You can read some of his reminiscences of the early years of our department here. Horváth served for 15 years as an associate editor of the Journal of Mathematical Analysis and Applications. He officially retired from Maryland in 1994.  However he remained quite active and continued publishing up until very recently.  Horváth published in English, French, German, Hungarian, and Spanish. In 1998, he was elected to the Mathematics Section of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, and he also received an honorary doctoral degree from the Universidad de los Andes in Colombia in 1997.   Among his many works are a textbook Topological Vector Spaces and Distributions (1966, recently reissued with the cover shown below), a nice Introduction to Distribution Theory in the American Mathematical Monthly, 1970, and a two-volume work A panorama of Hungarian mathematics in the twentieth century (cover shown below), which he edited for the Bolyai Mathematical Society in 2006.

HorvathBook     HorvathBook2

Below is a letter sent by the president of the Universidad de los Andes to President Low about Professor Horvath.


This program is funded by the generous gift of Professor Michael Brin in 2005. Professor Brin is an emeritus professor of mathematics at the University of Maryland. The Brin Postdoctoral program supports mathematicians who have recently completed or will soon complete a doctorate in mathematics or a closely related field, and whose work shows remarkable promise in mathematical research. The appointments are for one to three years, with a minimal teaching requirement of up to one course per semester.

Current Brin Postdoctoral Fellows

  • Fei Wang (PhD 2017, University of Southern California).  Works in PDEs.  His mentor is Professor Jacob Bedrossian (2017-).
  • Heyrim Cho (PhD 2015, Brown University). Studies numerical and theoretical methods for stochastic simulations. Her mentor is Professor Doron Levy (2015-).
  • Huanchen Bao (PhD 2015, University of Viginia). Studies representation theory of Lie algebras, superalgebras, and quantum groups. His mentor is Professor Xuhua He (2015-). 
  • Changguang Dong (PhD 2018, Penn State).  Studies dynamics, including the density of iterates of infinite sets.  His mentors incldude Professors Giovanni Forni and Adam Kanigowski.

Brin Postdoctoral Fellows Arriving in 2019-2020

  • Xuemiao Chen is a geometer, a student of Song Sun from SUNY Stony Brook. He works on Yang-Mills connections, sheaves on complex manifolds, and the Harder-Narasimhan-Seshadri filtration. His mentor will be Richard Wentworth.
  • Yijing Wu is a student of Luis Caffarelli at the University of Texas in PDE theory. Her undergraduate degree is from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China. Her research is about regularity properties of non-local elliptic operators and free boundary problems related to the calculus of variations. Her mentor will be Antoine Mellet.
  • Agnieszka Zelerowicz is a student of Yakov Pesin at Penn State, working on dynamical systems and the thermodynamic formalism. Her undergraduate degree is from Białystok, Poland. She will work with Dima Dolgopyat.

Former Brin Postdoctoral Fellows


Congratulations to Distinguished University Professor Eitan Tadmor, who has been awarded the 2015 Peter Henrici Prize.  This is a joint award of SIAM, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, and ETH Zurich.   It is given every 4 years "for original contributions to applied analysis and numerical analysis and/or for exposition appropriate for applied mathematics and scientific computing."  The award comes with a certificate and a cash prize of $5,000.  More details may be found here.

Assistant Professor Jacob Bedrossian has been awarded a prestigious 2015 Sloan Research Fellowship.  The size of the award is $50,000 over a two-year period, in support of the Fellow's research.  Congratulations, Jacob! Another winner this year in mathematics is alumnus Andrew Snowden, who was an undergraduate honors math major at Maryland, graduating in 2004. And still another winner (in Computational & Evolutionary Molecular Biology) is alumnus Cole Trapnell from the University of Washington,  who got joint BS degrees in CS and mathematics from Maryland in 2005 before going on to a PhD at Maryland in computer science.

KirwanWilliam "Brit" Kirwan joined the Mathematics Department at the University of Maryland just over 50 years ago. On March 10th there will be a one day golden anniversary conference.

More information about the conference can be found on the CMNS website.

Speakers will include Peter Duren, University of Michigan, Charles Fefferman, Princeton University, Mark Green, UCLA, Edward Saff, Vanderbilt, Uri Treisman, UT Austin, and Larry Zalcman, Bar Ilan (and formerly from Maryland).

Two more UMd math faculty have been elected Fellows of the American Mathematical Society: Professor John Benedetto and Professor Emeritus Karsten Grove.  You can read the prize citations here.