Ray Johnson, was named as a Fellow of the AMS this week.
Ray was the Math Department Chair in the years 1991-1996.
The AMS Fellow citation reads: “For contributions to classical harmonic analysis, and for efforts toward increasing the participation of African Americans in mathematics.”
For information about the 2022 class of Fellows see http://www.ams.org/profession/ams-fellows/ams-fellows

Konstantina Trivisa (IPST/MATH), AMSC graduate student Jin-Peng Liu, Andrew Childs (CS, QuICS, UMIACS), et al. published an article in PNAS, August 31 edition, entitled “Efficient quantum algorithm for dissipative nonlinear differential equations”. 

The authors give the first quantum algorithm for dissipative nonlinear differential equations that is efficient, provided the dissipation is sufficiently strong, relative to nonlinear and forcing terms and the solution does not decay too rapidly.  Potential applications in fluid dynamics and epidemiology are discussed. The work was highlighted in Quanta Magazine, Abstractions Blog, January 2021, “New Quantum Algorithms Finally Crack Nonlinear Equations.

Orginally posted via IPST

Small Area Estimation (SAE) Award Committee selected Partha Lahiri for the 2020 SAE Award.  Since SAE2020 was cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the 2020 SAE Award was given to him in the award ceremony of the SAE2021 conference held virtually from Naples, Italy, during September 20-24, 2021.  The SAE2021 conference was designated as the Satellite Conference of the 63rd International Statistical Institute (ISI) World Statistics Congress (WSC).

The award started in SAE2017, which was held in Paris, France, and was a satellite conference of the 61st ISI WSC.  "The Award is in recognition of an individual who has made outstanding contribution to the research, application, and education of small area estimation (SAE). The selection of the winner is worldwide." (sae2020.org).

Here is the complete list of SAE Award winners to date:

2017 (Paris, France): J.N.K. Rao, Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus, Carleton University, Canada

2018 (Shanghai, China) Danny Pfeffermann, National Statistician and CBS Director, Israel and Professor, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

2019 (Singapore) Malay Ghosh, Distinguished Professor, University of Florida, USA

2020 (Naples, Italy): Partha Lahiri (https://www.math.umd.edu/~plahiri/), Professor, STAT Program (https://stat.umd.edu/), Department of Mathematics (https://www-math.umd.edu/) and Joint Program in Survey Methodology (https://jpsm.umd.edu/)

2021 (Naples) SAE Award: Wayne Fuller, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Iowa State University.

Mathematics graduate taught Algebra II virtually while completing teaching certificate program

Teaching Algebra II virtually to more than 80 high school students in the middle of a pandemic sounded daunting to Lekha Tantry (B.S. ’20, mathematics; M.Ed. ’21) at first, especially because she was simultaneously completing her master’s certification program at the University of Maryland. But because of her experience with Terrapin Teachers, she felt equipped to take on the challenge.Lekha Tantry. Photo courtesy of same.Lekha Tantry. Photo courtesy of same.

Starting her freshman year, Tantry took education courses through Terrapin Teachers, a joint program between UMD’s College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences and College of Education. Terrapin Teachers provides science and math majors with two pathways to teaching certification—completing a double major in a STEM field plus secondary education with certification in four years or completing a bachelor’s degree in a STEM field and a master’s degree certification program in five years. Under the guidance of highly experienced mentors, students receive early immersive field experiences in local public schools.

Read the rest of this article following this link: https://cmns.umd.edu/news-events/features/4837

Congratulations to all the faculty who have been promoted this year. We have had 7 people promoted to Senior Lecturer, Associate, and Full Professor. Their years in academic and work experiences bring expertise and relevance to instruction for our department. Please join us in  congratulating these faculty members on their promotion.

Full Professor

  • Karin Melnick

Associate Professor

  • Tamas Darvas
  • Adam Kanigowski
  • Vince Lyzinski

Senior Lecturer

  • Susan Mazzullo
  • Hatice Sahinoglu
  • Terence Long


We are pleased to announce the results of the 2021 Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM) and the Interdisciplinary Contest in Modeling (ICM) – the MCM/ICM International Competition.

Our university was represented by two teams. Both teams did a great job this year and they were awarded a Meritorious award and a Successful Participant:
The team by Lily Larson, James Shen and Fucheng Li was awarded the Meritorious Award, a great result, competing on Problem B.
The team by Sally Zhao, Clarissa Xia and Naveen Raman was designated a Successful Participant, a good result, competing on Problem A.

This year 10,053 teams participated in the MCM competition (Problems A,B,C): 4487 teams on Problem A, 3105 teams on Problem B, 2461 teams on Problem C.
Out of all these teams only 7% were declared Meritorious winners, in the 4-10% percentile.

Congratulations to both teams!