The American Mathematical Society has announced the list of its inaugural fellows. "The Fellows of the American Mathematical Society program recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics." Fourteen members of the Maryland Mathematics Department are on the list of inaugural fellows.

They are:

Jeffrey Adams
Stuart S.J. Antman
Joel M. Cohen
Giovanni Forni
Mark Freidlin
William Mark Goldman
Maurice H. Heins, Emeritus
Rebecca A. Herb, Emerita
Ricardo H. Nochetto
Jonathan Rosenberg
Eitan A. Tadmor
Richard Alan Wentworth
Scott A. Wolpert
James A. Yorke

deep-spaces-geometry-labs featuredProf Bill Goldman and the Experimental Geometry Lab have been recently highlited in an article on geometry labs and teaching. Follow the link to read more: