Two more UMd math faculty have been elected Fellows of the American Mathematical Society: Professor John Benedetto and Professor Emeritus Karsten Grove.  You can read the prize citations here.

Former department chair Raymond Johnson is being honored by the Association of Rice Alumni
and The Association of Rice University Black Alumni (ARUBA) on November 8, 2014. In recognition of the 50th anniversary of Dr. Johnson's groundbreaking enrollment as the first black student to attend Rice University, he will be presented with special recognition from the City of Houston and the State of Texas.

The Maryland Math Department is sponsoring two one-day meetings in November, 2014, both joint with Johns Hopkins in Baltimore:

Professor Doron Levy has been named a Fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation for his research in mathematical biology. See for more information about the fellowship.

Congratulations to our team: Chris Lawler, Nathan Ng, and Sean Pannella! They placed in the top 7.5%.

MCM 2014 Results

Chris, Nathan and Sean applied their outstanding interdisciplinary knowledge in modeling, programming, and machine learning.

Our team was guided by Matt Guay under the direction of Professor Radu Balan. Training was provided by a department group including: Dana-Adriana Botesteanu, Xuemei Chen, Chae Clark , David Darmon, Stefan Doboszczak, Virginia Forstall, and Lucia Simonelli.

There were 6755 participating teams from 18 countries. U.S. participated with 391 teams. Go Terps!!

20110620 LevinS webrevSimon Levin, the George M. Moffett Professor of Biology at Princeton University, has been awarded the 2014 Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement. Levin earned his Ph.D. in Mathematics in 1964 from the University of Maryland.