Special congratulations to Yaelle Goldschlag - sophomore, Computer Science and Math, on receiving a Goldwater Fellowship. Yaelle Goldschlag plans "to earn a Ph.D. in Computer Science with a focus on computer security and privacy, and then conduct research and teach at the university level." To find out more about the Goldwater Scholarship and to see the list of recipents, visit https://goldwater.scholarsapply.org/

Department of Mathematics
Undergraduate 2019 Awards Scholarships (2019 – 2020)
Strauss Teaching Assistantships (2019 – 2020)

IMG 4890

The Department of Mathematics is proud to announce the following Undergraduate award scholarships and Strauss Teaching Assistantships. See the department listings for more details.

Strauss Scholarship

Lanqi Fei

Aziz Mathematics Scholarship

Justin Hontz

Strauss Teaching Assistant

Margaret Brown
Ryan Craver
Alexander Davydov
Conner Gorman
Siddhartha Harmalkar
David Yu Miller
Franklin Olmsted
Nataliya Stepanova
Ryan Synk
Matthew Watson

Outstanding Senior Award

Aaron George
William Marcus Golding

Higginbotham Award

Ryan Synk

Abramowitz Award

Erik Metz

Kontner Scholarship

April Nellis

Dan Shanks Award

Pratik Rathore

Daniel Sweet Undergraduate Research Fellowship

Tanay Wakhare
John Nolan

High Honors

Aaron Steven George
William Marcus Golding
Yotam Yaniv


Al-Fahad Muhammed Al-Qadhi
Alejandro Nicolas Diaz
April Rosina Nellis


Congratulations to our Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) Student Chapter. They have been awarded the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) Tensor Women and Mathematics Grant for the Girls Talk Math program. The day camp will run this summer from June 17-28, 2019 and will host 40 local students. Activities include learning a topic of mathematics outside the usually high school curriculum, reporting & presenting technical material, and researching & recording a podcast about a famous female mathematician. To learn more about how to apply or volunteer go to http://gtm.math.umd.edu.

Professor Dio Margetis will be the Distinguished Ordway Visitor and Lecturer by the School of Mathematics at the University of Minnesota, for 2019-20. This special distinction is the result of faculty nomination and a competitive selection process in the School of Mathematics at UMN. During his visit, Dio will deliver a series of lectures on his latest work in mathematical aspects of materials science and mathematical physics. A list of previous Ordway Visitors can be found at: https://math.umn.edu/upcoming-events/ordway-distinguished-lectures.

In 2018, a total of 4,623 students from 568 institutions participated in the Putnam competition.

The University of Maryland, College Park was ranked 9th (nationwide!) and obtained one of the five Honorable Mention awards at the team level.
Our team members were Erik Metz, who was ranked 87th, Pratik Rathore, who was ranked 120th and Aaron George who was ranked 193rd. Erik Metz also won an Honorable Mention award at the individual level. Joshua Fernandes was ranked 180th.  All four of them are mathematics majors with a double major in another subject (computer science or engineeering).  See this story on the CMNS website.

Congratulations to our team and the participants!

Article copied from https://blog.umd.edu/putnam/

Doron Levy has been named interim chair of the University of Maryland’s Department of Mathematics and will begin a one-year appointment on July 1, 2019. Levy will be stepping in for current chair, Scott Wolpert, who will take a one-year sabbatical and then return as chair for two years.

“I am very pleased that Doron has agreed to serve as interim chair for the next year,” said Amitabh Varshney, dean of UMD’s College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences. “Through his many contributions to the department in research, teaching and service, I know he will be an excellent leader.”

Read the rest of the article here.